According to Elizabeth Kubler-ross,
When we are dying...
or have suffered a catastrophic loss,
We all move through five distinct stages of grief.

We go into denial...
Because the loss is so unthinkable,
we can't imagine it's true.

We become angry with everyone
angry with survivors, angry with ourselves.
Then we bargain...

We beg, we plead...
We offer everything we have.
We offer up our souls...
in exchange... for just on more day.

When the bargaining has failed and 
the anger is too hard to maintain,
we fall into depression,
until finally we have to accept
that we have done everything we can.

We let go.
We let go and move into acceptance.

<Good Mourning - Grey's Anatomy Season6 E01>
ABC, 2009

+ Recent posts